“McCartney III Imagined” announced

Thursday, March 11, 2021

Related master release

Related album

Related people

Spread the love! If you like what you are seeing, share it on social networks and let others know about The Paul McCartney Project.


After a few-days-long marketing campaign, “McCartney III Imagined“, a mix of covers and remixes of “McCartney III” by other artists, was finally announced and made available as pre-order in a variety of formats and vinyl colours. Oddly enough, the album would be released in digital form on April 16, 2021, whereas physical releases (CDs & vinyls) had to wait till July 2021.

From paulmccartney.com, March 11, 2021:



Hailed upon its release last year as “vital and comfortable taking new chances” (Rolling Stone) and “cheery, resilient, forever looking forward” (The New Yorker), Paul McCartney’s McCartney III is now literally moving into the future in the form of McCartney III Imagined, to be released digitally April 16 on Capitol Records, and available for pre-order now.  

Personally curated by Paul, McCartney III Imagined features an A-List assortment of friends, fans and brand new acquaintances, each covering and/or reimagining their favorite McCartney III moments in their own signature styles. The result is a kaleidoscopic reinterpretation of an album Rolling Stone accurately tagged “an inspiration to us all”—one that serves as an extension of the instantly beloved McCartney III while standing on its own as brilliant and adventurous milestone in the McCartney discography. 
The first offering from McCartney III Imagined comes from American singer/rapper/songwriter Dominic Fike, whose cover of “The Kiss of Venus” transmutes the tender acoustic ballad into a retro-futuristic R&B tour de force. “The Kiss of Venus (Dominic Fike version)” is available digitally HERE, and a brand new video for the track can be seen HERE.   
Further III-imaginations will be forthcoming from Damon Albarn, Beck, Blood Orange, Phoebe Bridgers, Josh Homme, Khraungbin, 3D RDN of Massive Attack, Ed O’Brien (EOB), Anderson .Paak, St. Vincent and more. 

Originally released December 18, 2020, McCartney III is the third in a trilogy of home-made and self-titled albums that began with Paul’s 1970 solo debut McCartney, and continued in 1980 with McCartney II. All three albums were written, performed and produced by Paul in varying states of isolation, all showcasing his unique creativity and inspired spontaneity. Recorded in “Rockdown”, McCartney III topped album charts across the world, scoring Paul his first UK#1 album in 31 years – increasing his lead as the UK’s most successful chart act of all time.   

McCartney III Imagined continues the tradition of the biggest and most diverse names in music covering Paul’s songs — an ever-expanding lineup that ranges from more recent versions by Billie Eilish, Harry Styles, Dave Grohl, Coldplay and The Cure, to interpretations over the years from the likes of U2, Guns N’ Roses, Earth Wind & Fire, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Marvin Gaye, Bill Withers, Joe Cocker, Stevie Wonder, Frank Sinatra, Elvis Presley, Ray Charles and so many more. McCartney III Imagined is a testament of Paul’s enduring and unmatched influence, a legacy that stretches from “Yesterday” being the most covered song in contemporary musical history to the inspiration his current work continues to hold for generations of artists and fans. 

McCartney III Imagined physical formats are also available for pre-order, with their release following this summer, including exclusive color vinyl editions available at Target, Barnes & Noble, Indie record stores, Newbury Comics, and PaulMcCartney.com. Physical configurations will feature the exclusive bonus track “Long Tailed Winter Bird (Idris Elba Remix).” 

McCartney III Imagined 
1. Find My Way (feat. Beck) 
2. The Kiss of Venus (Dominic Fike) 
3. Pretty Boys (feat. Khruangbin) 
4. Women And Wives (St. Vincent Remix) 
5. Deep Down (Blood Orange Remix) 
6. Seize The Day (feat. Phoebe Bridgers) 
7. Slidin’ (EOB Remix) 
8. Long Tailed Winter Bird (Damon Albarn Remix) 
9. Lavatory Lil (Josh Homme) 
10. When Winter Comes (Anderson .Paak Remix) 
11. Deep Deep Feeling (3D RDN Remix) 
12. Long Tailed Winter Bird (Idris Elba Remix)*   

* Physical release exclusive track 

From Twitter – McCartney III Imagined – Coming Soon – Personally curated by Paul, #ThreeImagined features an assortment of fellow artists and friends, each reimagining their favourite #McCartneyIII tracks in their own signature styles.

Last updated on April 7, 2021


Have you spotted an error on the page? Do you want to suggest new content? Or do you simply want to leave a comment ? Please use the form below!

New Indie and Alternative Album Releases – April 16, 2021 – The Idiot Check 2 years ago

[…] their favorite McCartney III moments in their own signature styles,” reads the press release. “The result is a kaleidoscopic reinterpretation of an album Rolling Stone accurately […]

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.