Get Back (The Rooftop Performance)

By The BeatlesStreaming • Part of the collection “The Beatles • Post break-up albums

Release date:
Jan 27, 2022

Master release


Spread the love! If you like what you are seeing, share it on social networks and let others know about The Paul McCartney Project.

About

From thebeatles.com, January 27, 2022:

The Beatles’ Legendary 1969 Rooftop Concert Audio is Newly Mixed
by Giles Martin and Sam Okell in Stereo and Dolby Atmos

New Streaming Release Leads the Celebration for This Sunday’s 53rd Anniversary of The Beatles’ Final Live Performance Atop Their Apple Corps Headquarters in London

Los Angeles | London – January 27, 2022 – On January 30, 1969, The Beatles famously staged their final live performance on the rooftop of their Apple Corps headquarters in London’s Savile Row. This Sunday’s 53rd anniversary will be celebrated with an exciting slate of special releases, events and announcements, with The Beatles leading the charge. For the first time, the complete audio for the band’s legendary rooftop performance has been mixed in stereo and Dolby Atmos by Giles Martin and Sam Okell. Apple Corps Ltd./Capitol/UMe will debut The Beatles: Get Back-The Rooftop Performance for global streaming tonight at 9pm PST / 12am EST (tomorrow at 5am GMT).

Fans around the world have been exploring The Beatles’ January 1969 sessions and rooftop performance with last fall’s celebrated release of the band’s remixed, expanded Let It Be Special Edition (Apple Corps Ltd./Capitol/UMe), Peter Jackson’s “The Beatles: Get Back” docuseries (Disney/Apple Corps Ltd./WingNut), and the collectible hardcover book also titled The Beatles: Get Back (Apple Corps Ltd./Callaway). The raw sources explored for the new projects have revealed that a more joyous, benevolent spirit imbued the sessions than was conveyed in the 1970 Let It Be film’s 80 minutes, while also shining a new, warmer light on the Let It Be album.

In addition to the streaming release for The Beatles: Get Back-The Rooftop Performance, the anniversary celebration for The Beatles’ electrifying rooftop performance will continue with several more exciting announcements, tributes, and events:

Today, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announces a groundbreaking featured exhibit, titled The Beatles: Get Back to Let It Be, set to open on March 18, 2022 and run through March 2023. An immersive complement to Peter Jackson’s “Get Back” docuseries, the multimedia exhibit will welcome fans to step into The Beatles’ January 1969 rehearsals, sessions, and witness the band’s final rooftop performance, surrounded by large-scale projections and superior sound. The scene is thrillingly set with original instruments, clothing, handwritten lyrics, and other unique items, including several on loan directly from Beatles principals. Special events to be hosted by the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame during the exhibit’s run, including interviews, film screenings, panels, and more will be announced throughout the year.

Tomorrow (Friday, January 28), Norah Jones will release two rooftop tribute performance videos of Beatles songs from the Let It Be album, recently filmed with her band on the rooftop of New York’s Empire State Building. The two performances, “I’ve Got A Feeling” and “Let It Be,” will debut on Norah Jones’ YouTube Channel tomorrow at 9am PST / 12pm EST / 5pm GMT.

On SiriusXM, The Beatles Channel will debut “The Rooftop Concert Special” tomorrow at 11am EST, presenting The Beatles’ entire rooftop performance with commentary by Beatles historian, author, and radio producer Kevin Howlett. The special will re-air throughout the weekend on The Beatles Channel and will also be available to stream on the SXM App.

This Saturday, January 29, The Beatles LOVE by Cirque du Soleil will debut a rooftop performance tribute video for “Get Back” (LOVE Version), featuring cast members from the acclaimed stage production, now in its 15th year of wowing audiences at The Mirage Las Vegas. The performance video will debut on Cirque du Soleil’s YouTube Channel at 6am PST / 9am EST / 2pm GMT. A behind-the-scenes/making-of video for the cast’s rooftop tribute performance will debut an hour later on the channel at 7am PST / 10am EST / 3pm GMT.

This Sunday, January 30, the 53rd anniversary of The Beatles’ rooftop performance, Disney/Apple Corps Ltd./WingNut will present a special screening event exclusively at IMAX theaters in the US and UK of “The Beatles: Get Back-The Rooftop Concert.” The 60-minute feature presents The Beatles’ complete rooftop performance following a brief introduction. The special event screenings will begin with an exclusive filmmaker Q&A at 12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT. The concert, which features in its entirety in the Disney+ original docuseries “The Beatles: Get Back,” is optimized for IMAX screens, digitally remastered into the image and sound quality of The IMAX Experience® with proprietary IMAX DMR® (Digital Remastering) technology. Tickets for the Exclusive IMAX Event Screening and Filmmaker Q&A are on sale at: tickets.imax.com.

It’s a wonderful time to be a Beatles fan, as the world shares in the celebration of the band’s innovative and inspiring creativity captured so vividly in January 1969.

Yes I’m the maelstrom of a video going viral, a mix was done of the rooftop concert for streaming. It’s rough, it’s ready, but above all else all very human and made with love – it’s out tomorrow x

From Giles Martin on Twitter, January 27, 2022

We wanted to put it on the box set. But it just took up too much real estate. It’s 40 minutes, so it didn’t make any sense. But the response to Get Back has been so extraordinary.

I always thought the rooftop concert is better to be seen and listened to, rather than just listened to. […] There was such an overwhelming request: ‘Why don’t we have this?’ That’s why we did it. I think this is more of a historical document for fans. I’ve made it so fans can listen to everything I have, really. I cut off a bit at the end, which is basically just wind noise, and that’s it. I mixed the whole thing from start to finish in its entirety.

Giles Martin – From ‘Get Back’: Beatles’ Rooftop Concert Finally Gets a Digital Release – Rolling Stone, January 27, 2022

I love when Paul jumps up and down on the plank, to see if it’s going to hold his weight. He comes across being as hard as nails. They’re all complaining about the cold, but he’s wearing less clothes than anyone else. He’d like to do a two-hour set—impervious to any temperature whatsoever.

Giles Martin – From ‘Get Back’: Beatles’ Rooftop Concert Finally Gets a Digital Release – Rolling Stone, January 27, 2022

It’s a remarkable recording, really, when you think about the fact that it’s a windy rooftop in January. Glyn Johns is a great engineer. My dad’s pretty good. And the Beatles are playing a gig on a roof with no monitors or anything. It would’ve sounded crap to them up there. They couldn’t hear themselves. So when they went downstairs, you can see they’re surprised: ‘Wow, this is actually a good recording!’ They wouldn’t have heard any kick-drum on the roof—no low end.

Giles Martin – From ‘Get Back’: Beatles’ Rooftop Concert Finally Gets a Digital Release – Rolling Stone, January 27, 2022

From The “Complete” Rooftop Concert: What’s Missing and What’s New? – The Daily Beatle (webgrafikk.com), January 31, 2022:

The “Complete” Rooftop Concert: What’s Missing and What’s New?

Fans couldn’t be happier with everything that has been officially delivered to us regarding the January 1969 sessions and the mythical Rooftop Concert, which was actually more of an outdoor recording session (three of those performances were selected for the ‘Let it Be’ LP).

While we technically have it “complete” in terms of the five songs they chose to perform (doing multiple takes of three of them), there are bits of warm-up rehearsals and jams that were recorded between songs or while changing film reels and not all of it is included in the newly released official 2022 Audio Streaming mix, nor in Peter Jackson’s ‘Get Back’ documentary, as at that particular time the 8-track tape was also stopped by recording engineer Glyn Johns; however, luckily for collectors, most of the audio was recorded as well on portable NAGRA reel-to-reel tapes, albeit in monaural (or with ambient sound at street level recorded by Camera B while conducting interviews), and is only available on unofficial or Bootleg discs. Peter Jackson also had to use this audio recorded by the NAGRAS for his restoration of the Rooftop Concert (as well as the rest of his documentary ‘Get Back’) completing sections not available on the professional audio tape that we now have in Streaming, but he had to leave out the more distant-sounding fragments.

The importance of these improvisations as a real part of the event has been highlighted in the documentary ‘Get Back’ and the 2022 digital audio release by including as part of the “official set list”, the short rendition of “God Save The Queen” (plus the warm-up jams before “Dig A Pony” and “I’ve Got A Feeling Take 2” although they are not listed as separate tracks), however, there are many others that also deserve a mention. There is no “complete” version of the entire concert, official or Bootleg, and in order to have the vast majority of the event, it would be necessary to resort to the mono NAGRA tapes, the film ‘Let it Be’ or the Peter Jackson documentary, and the official audio recordings.

Being very detailed, this would be the complete Set List of the event of January 30, 1969 with a duration of 46 and a half minutes, of which Apple gave us 38:34 via Streaming and Peter Jackson about 42 minutes. […]

Last updated on February 15, 2022

Contribute!

Have you spotted an error on the page? Do you want to suggest new content? Or do you simply want to leave a comment ? Please use the form below!

Your comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.