Timeline Albums, EPs & singles Songs Films Concerts Sessions People Interviews Articles

Monday, July 28, 2014

“Venus And Mars” and “At The Speed Of Sound” get the Archive Collection treatment

Last updated on April 9, 2022

From paulmccartney.com, July 28, 2014:

The GRAMMY Award-winning Paul McCartney Archive Collection Announce next release

Wings to reissue classic albums Venus and Mars and At The Speed Of Sound

Formats to include previously unreleased material

UK Release: 3rd November
US Release: 4th November

MPL and Concord Music Group confirmed plans today to reissue Wings albums Venus and Mars and At The Speed Of Sound as the next releases in the Paul McCartney Archive Collection on November 3rd (UK), and November 4th (US), 2014.

Both albums will be available in a variety of physical and digital formats:

Standard Edition: Starting with a 2-disc (2 CD) Standard Edition, the first CD will feature the original remastered album and the second CD will include bonus audio made up of material including demos and unreleased tracks.

Deluxe Edition: The 3-disc (2CD, 1DVD) Deluxe Edition will be housed in a hardback book featuring unpublished photographs, new interviews with Paul, material from Paul’s archives and expanded track-by-track information. The deluxe version bonus DVD will be comprised of filmed material from around the time of each release, some of which has never been seen before.

Vinyl: The albums will also be available on special gatefold vinyl editions (vinyl editions include a download card).

Digital: Digitally Venus and Mars and At The Speed Of Sound will be made available as both standard and deluxe versions – including Mastered for iTunes and Hi-Res formats.

Wings are one of the most successful acts the UK has ever produced, achieving no less than 14 US Top 10 hits and 12 Top 10 hits in the UK. Following 1973’s Band on the Run the mid ‘70s were a commercial heyday for Wings. Venus and Mars, the band’s fourth studio album was released in May 1975 ahead of the legendary ‘Wings Over The World’ tour. Preceded by the US Number One single ‘Listen To What The Man Said’, Venus and Mars hit the Number One spot in the album charts on both sides of the Atlantic and went on to sell over 4 million copies worldwide to date. At The Speed Of Sound was recorded in the midst of the same tour and released in March 1976. In the US it enjoyed the same chart success as its predecessor. Including the international smash hit single ‘Silly Love Songs’, the album went on to become Paul’s most successful American chart album spending seven consecutive weeks at Number One. In the UK it charted at Number Two, narrowly missing out on the top spot. Sales to date exceed 3.5 million worldwide.

As with all the Archive Collection, Paul has personally supervised all aspects of the reissues.  The remastering work was done at Abbey Road by the same team who have worked on all the reissues as well as The Beatles’ catalogue.

Since launching the Paul McCartney Archive Collection in 2010 Paul has received two GRAMMY Awards for the releases.  In 2012 he picked up ‘Best Historical Album’ for Band on the Run and this year Wings over America picked up an award (‘Best Boxed or Special Edition Package’) on the same night that Paul set a personal best by picking up five awards in just one night. In 2013 RAM was nominated for ‘Best Historical Album’.

Other titles released to date in the Paul McCartney Archive Collection are Band on the RunMcCartneyMcCartney IIRAM and Wings over America.  


Venus & Mars

CD 1 – Remastered Album
1. Venus and Mars                
2. Rock Show                      
3. Love In Song                    
4. You Gave Me The Answer            
5. Magneto and Titanium Man        
6. Letting Go                    
7. Venus and Mars – Reprise            
8. Spirits Of Ancient Egypt            
9. Medicine Jar                    
10. Call Me Back Again                
11. Listen To What The Man Said            
12. Treat Her Gently – Lonely Old People        
13. Crossroads                  

CD 2 – Bonus Audio
1. Junior’s Farm                                      
2. Sally G                                                  
3. Walking In The Park With Eloise                
4. Bridge On The River Suite                                                
5. My Carnival                                                           
6. Going To New Orleans (My Carnival)                
7. Hey Diddle [Ernie Winfrey Mix]                 
8.  Let’s Love                                         
9. Soily [from One Hand Clapping]                           
10. Baby Face [from One Hand Clapping]                                                      
11. Lunch Box/Odd Sox                         
12. 4th Of July                                       
13. Rock Show [Old Version]         
14. Letting Go [Single Edit]                    

DVD – Bonus Film
1. Recording My Carnival                        
2. Bon Voyageur            
3. Wings At Elstree                                
4. Venus and Mars TV Ad             

At The Speed Of Sound

CD 1 – Remastered Album
1. Let ‘Em In                     
2. The Note You Never Wrote            
3. She’s My Baby                    
4. Beware My Love                
5. Wino Junko                    
6. Silly Love Songs                
7. Cook Of The House                
8. Time To Hide                
9. Must Do Something About It    
10. San Ferry Anne                
11. Warm And Beautiful            
CD 2 – Bonus Audio
1. Silly Love Songs [Demo]                    
2. She’s My Baby [Demo]                                      
3. Message To Joe                        
4. Beware My Love [John Bonham Version]            
5. Must Do Something About It [Paul’s Version]            
6. Let ‘Em In [Demo]                                           
7. Warm And Beautiful [Instrumental Demo]                     
DVD – Bonus Film
1. Silly Love Songs Music Video                    
2. Wings Over Wembley            
3. Wings In Venice

From paulmccartney.com, August 27, 2014:

Production issues delay release of Venus and Mars and At The Speed Of Sound
New UK Release Date: 3rd November / New US Release Date: 4th November

Due to production issues the release of the latest albums in the GRAMMY Award winning Paul McCartney Archive Collection will be delayed. The classic Wings albums Venus and Mars and At The Speed Of Sound will now be released on November 3rd in the UK and November 4th in the US and not the previously announced September dates.

Paul McCartney writing

Talk more talk, chat more chat

Notice any inaccuracies on this page? Have additional insights or ideas for new content? Or just want to share your thoughts? We value your feedback! Please use the form below to get in touch with us.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2024 • Please note this site is strictly non-commercial. All pictures, videos & quoted texts remain the property of the respective copyright owner, and no implication of ownership by us is intended or should be inferred. Any copyright owner who wants something removed should contact us and we will do so immediately. Alternatively, we would be delighted to provide credits.